Neue Heimat Talks | Rem Koolhaas
© Michael Schindhelm
20.6.2019

Neue Heimat Talks – Rem Koolhaas

"Crisis and Future of Urban Condition in Europe"

Rem Koolhaas, born in 1945 in Dresden's twin city Rotterdam, kicks off the international series of speeches Neue Heimat Talks. He is regarded as one of the most important architects of our time. In addition to his numerous buildings for cities in Europe, North America and Asia (including the CCTV television tower in Beijing), for which he has received all the important architectural prizes, Koolhaas is prominent for his theoretical work on urban development. In a conversation with Michael Schindhelm, the curator of Dresden's bid for the European Capital of Culture 2025, he will talk about the crisis and future of the urban condition in Europe in Dresden's Frauenkirche on 20 June at 8 p.m. Koolhaas, who worked for years for the Council of Wise Men on the Future of Europe, is convinced that the crisis has made Europe stronger and that the demographic problem can only be solved through immigration.

Speaker
Rem Koolhaas
Achitect

Rem Koolhaas, born in 1945 in Dresden's twin city Rotterdam, founded the Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA) and is regarded as one of the most important architects of our time. He has designed important buildings for cities in Europe, North America and Asia, including the CCTV television tower in Beijing, the most interesting building of the 21st century according to the New York Times. Koolhaas received all major architectural awards, including the Pritzker Prize in 2000. In addition to his bold designs, Koolhaas is prominent for his theoretical work on urban development. With Delirious New York in 1978, he created a groundbreaking work on the relationship between culture and the city in New York that has achieved cult status and is still regarded today as an essential narrative about the development of the western city in general. Koolhaas has always seen himself as a political person and has also stood up for the European idea. With The Image of Europe in 2001, he created a research platform on the self-perception of the EU, which continues to this day. He advised European citizens: "Be a little more proud!

Host
Michael Schindhelm
Curator

Michael Schindhelm has been preparing Dresden's application concept for the European Capital of Culture 2025 since March 2018. Born in 1960, the cultural manager, author and filmmaker was general director of the Berlin Opera Foundation, director of the Theater Basel and founding director of the Dubai Culture & Arts Authority in 2001. Schindhelm has been an official cultural consultant for public institutions since summer 2009, with the aim of defining Dresden as a laboratory for a new concept of culture.

Neue Heimat Talks with Rem Koolhaas

Neue Heimat Talks | Rem Koolhaas
© Michael Schindhelm
20.6.2019

Neue Heimat Talks – Rem Koolhaas

„Krise und Zukunft des urbanen Raums in Europa"

Den Auftakt der internationalen Redenreihe Neue Heimat Talks macht Rem Koolhaas, 1945 in Dresdens Partnerstadt Rotterdam geboren. Er gilt als einer der bedeutendsten Architekten unserer Zeit. Neben seinen zahlreichen Bauten für Städte in Europa, Nordamerika und Asien (darunter auch den CCTV Fernsehturm in Peking), für die er alle wichtigen Architekturpreise erhielt, ist Koolhaas für seine theoretische Arbeit zum Thema Stadtentwicklung prominent. Im Gespräch mit dem Kurator der Dresdner Bewerbung zur Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2025, Michael Schindhelm, spricht er am 20. Juni, 20 Uhr in der Dresdner Frauenkirche über die Krise und Zukunft des urbanen Raums in Europa. Koolhaas, der Jahre lang für den Rat der Weisen zur Zukunft Europas gearbeitet hat, ist überzeugt, dass die Krise Europa stärker gemacht hat und dass das demografische Problem nur durch Einwanderung gelöst werden kann.

Referent
Rem Koolhaas
Achitekt

Rem Koolhaas, 1945 in Dresdens Partnerstadt Rotterdam geboren, gründete das Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA) und gilt als einer der bedeutendsten Architekten unserer Zeit. Er hat wichtige Bauten für Städte in Europa, Nordamerika und Asien entworfen, darunter etwa den CCTV Fernsehturm in Peking, laut New York Times das interessanteste Gebäude des 21. Jahrhunderts. Koolhaas erhielt alle wichtigen Architekturpreise, darunter 2000 den Pritzker-Preis. Neben seinen kühnen Entwürfen ist Koolhaas für seine theoretische Arbeit zum Thema Stadtentwicklung prominent. Mit Delirious New York schuf er 1978 ein bahnbrechendes Werk über den Zusammenhang von Kultur und Stadt in New York, das Kultstatus erreicht hat und bis heute als wesentliches Narrativ über die Entwicklung der westlichen Stadt generell gilt. Koolhaas hat sich stets als politischer Mensch verstanden und sich unter anderem auch für die europäische Idee stark gemacht. Mit The Image of Europa schuf er in 2001 eine Research-Plattform zur Selbstwahrnehmung der EU, das bis heute fortgeführt wird. Europäischen Bürgern riet er: „Seid ein bisschen mehr stolz!“.

Moderation
Michael Schindhelm
Kurator

Michael Schindhelm bereitet seit März 2018 das Bewerbungskonzept Dresdens als Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2025 vor. Der 1960 geborene Kulturmanager, Autor und Filmemacher war Generaldirektor der Berliner Opernstiftung, Intendant des Theater Basel und Gründungsdirektor der Dubai Culture & Arts Authority 2001. Seit Sommer 2009 ist Schindhelm offiziell als Kulturberater für öffentliche Einrichtungen tätig.Sein Ziel ist es, Dresden als Labor für einen neuen Kulturbegriff zu definieren.

Neue Heimat Talks mit Rem Koolhaas (Deutsch)